On Hiatus

Unfortunately my posting will be, if anything, few and far between due to summer work in Alberta and inconsistent internet access. I will continue to hopefully be guest posting on another website, Persephone Magazine, a feminist blog centered on pop culture, commentary on contemporary news stories and social issues.

In the meantime I will also be developing a new joint project with close friends online in Toronto entitled Dishes with Bishes, a food and restaurant/nightclub review blog still in the works. Please check me out on both of these websites and occasionally check back in here for a few posts as I will work on narrowing down this website to perspectives on social media, pop culture and advertising.

Hopefully as I continue to find time I will be able to post on a semi-regular basis, let’s say once a month until I return to Toronto come September where I will begin my regular twice per week posts.

In the meantime here are some great reads old and new that I have been checking out, proving that I am still holding onto my social awareness but feeling a bit too bogged down to write as much as I am used to! Check out the linkage…

Commercials That Air During Maury:

My first guest post on Persephone Magazine discussing how the advertising during trash TV coincidentally infers certain characteristics about the people that watch these shows during certain times of the day.

Making Bipolar Britney:

Discussing how the mass media played a role in Britney Spears’ mental breakdown and how aspects of her personal life came to inform what the public thought of her at certain points in time as she navigated different social roles, particularly as she transitioned from sex object to mother to unstable mental patient.

Spring Breakers vs The Great Gatsby:

One of my favorite website Salon’s take on the similarities between the two new movie releases and the theme of the American Dream and excess inherent in most people’s everyday lives.

For Sale, Rob Ford Smoking Crack:

I’m sure this has made more than its fair share of rounds over the internet but I thought this was a really interesting read, especially since I’m from Toronto and concerned about the goings-on there. Given Ford’s already-well-established belligerent behavior it may not be so surprising a scandal to find out he’s on some hard drugs. Makes you think about the long-standing pattern of corrupt and idiotic politicians leading the herds of blind sheep.

So that’s it for now, keep checking back here the odd time for some more posts on the goings-on in our society. I’m going to try to keep up.

About The Girl on Bloor

I'm a busy 20-something about town living in downtown Toronto and creating fun, easy recipes for those on the go!
This entry was posted in Critical Perspective, Marketing & Advertising, News, Pop Culture Commentary and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

