Precarious Labour: Traffic Control

Unappealing student work seems a necessary component of higher education for millenials, forcing young adults to move further away from home to seek better opportunities for personal and professional growth. Those who seek seasonal work and do not fall into the student category, however, often face the same unfair, precarious work experiences that are justified as unskilled labour.

6 068

As it becomes harder to find work in Ontario, many of the province’s residents are migrating seasonally to work in Western provinces that are host to a wealth of different construction companies. The Globe & Mail recently looked at Stats Canada and declared that employment in construction is at a record high, while it is also a fairly well-known fact that employers in Fort McMurray, Alberta can never hire enough people to work in the oil sands industry.

My personal experience as a flag person–aka traffic control–over the summer managed to live up to my expectations yet simultaneously shock me. I knew going in that I was going to be roughing it: living in dingy hotels, surviving on fast food and frequently having to go to the washroom outside. But I certainly didn’t expect that I would have to wait 8 hours for a pee break, or 3 and a half weeks to go to a grocery store so that I could have proper lunches for my long 13-16 hour days.

6 091 6 106

I worked mainly in Manitoba over the summer for a company that was based out of Alberta. Unfortunately most of the contracts were pretty far north in the province, and the whole crew had a rough time with the living conditions through no particular fault of the company. My experience started off fairly well: we had two days worth of safety training and a brief orientation, and then it was off to work.

A normal day of flagging consists of stopping traffic and waiting for a pilot vehicle to come lead cars through the work zone. When there is a competent supervisor/foreman team, the flagger isn’t left standing for more than a couple of hours at a time before there is a half hour break to drive the pilot vehicle.

1 097

Although with a more experienced foreman there were more breaks, there were several injustices that occurred over the span of the 4 months that I worked out there, most of which occurred within a gendered context. Most of the flaggers that worked with this company were young women, and I would say about half of them were also students needing a summer job. The most obvious way in which sexism plays out is in the actual work itself: flagging is taken to be an inherently feminine job because it doesn’t require much skill or strength. In fact, male flaggers are often seen as less masculine and unable to pull their weight in any labouring behind the truck.

During one job, a flagger had to walk behind the production truck and the labourers, holding the slow sign towards oncoming traffic. Whenever there was a pause in production, I would get the labourers to hold my sign so that I could try doing some of their work: shoveling concrete, mopping the wet pavement. Although it required slightly more strength than flagging (keeping in mind that flaggers also have to lift heavy signs and gas cans), the guys rotated tasks enough that no single person was left with a strenuous activity for too long. I could imagine myself doing it.

Ask any other worker about getting the chance to labour at this company as a female–at a $6/hour pay increase–and they’ll laugh in your face. I was frequently told that the company did not hire female labourers for a reason, that most of them simply weren’t strong enough to perform the tasks. I wasn’t the only one who felt that this was a lame excuse.

“If given the opportunity, I feel like girls would try harder, they would care more.” I’m sitting having a coffee with my former co-worker, Veronica*, asking her how she felt about her flagging experience. “As a flagger you’re not expected to live up to much, but it’s both mentally and physically tiring. You have to be able to diffuse situations, you have to be able to keep yourself awake…the stress gets to everyone.”

I think for myself, one of the biggest physical challenges of flagging was the difficulty in staying mentally stimulated. People don’t realize that flagging requires a certain amount of creativity and discipline, as well as unappreciated kinds of intelligence like spatial sense and ideas about the ways in which motorists think and act.

6 078

Another girl I worked with, Lisa*, also had trouble with the physical and mental demands of the job: “We would normally work 13-15 hour days, flagging the entire time, which I had somewhat expected…but normally we would not get any breaks. We didn’t have time to eat our lunch and usually didn’t even get five minutes to use the washroom. It was extremely frustrating and tiring.”

*Names have been changed*

Lisa brings up a valid point when it comes to human rights violations. Occasionally drivers would talk to me on the road while I had them stopped and the first things they asked me were always, “Are you bored?” or “How do you guys go to the washroom?” I grew used to going in between the doors of the pilot truck, but closer to the end of the season when we had an inexperienced foreman, there were times when the pilot truck was not in use and we would be standing on the road with no washroom breaks for hours. On one occasion, one of the production truck drivers relieved me from my post out of sympathy and we were both in trouble.

During some digging I discovered other flaggers’ distaste in the lack of washroom break allowances. On the Facebook group “FLAGGERS AGAINST SPEEDING”, one member stated that she had “trained [her] body not to pee” but notes the damage that repressing one’s natural bodily impulses does. “My best friend almost died of kidney failure due to not peeing and working for 16/hrs per shift…. she made multiple comments to her dispatch and nothing happened….. she found herself in the hospital with renal (Kidney) Failure….. And her boss still didn’t stand behind her.” I can certainly vouch that this is a common occurrence, and I have also witnessed supervisors and other workers laughing about it like it’s some sort of joke. It’s not uncommon to hear phrases like, “Screw them, they can stand there.”

Veronica thinks this stems from the overall attitude that comes with flagging. “It’s a job nobody else wants so they just stick you there…we’re supposed to just do our job and not say anything.” This goes hand in hand with flagging as a feminine occupation.  It is expected that flaggers will not go against authority, and there is the implicit expectation to stay quietly subordinate in order to let the big boys do the important stuff. Flagging is an afterthought: a necessary component of construction, yet a job where one is easily replaced.

It’s this idea of replacement that keeps employers and the public alike from caring too much about flagger safety and almost forgetting about basic human rights. Reading online, I found many instances of flaggers injured and killed on the job, and in most cases the flagger is blamed for being distracted or turning their backs to traffic, and the motorists who hit them get off nearly scot free. Fines for speeding through construction zones are not high enough: $150 tickets with no deducted demerit points will certainly not deter people. Lisa agrees: “I do not think enough is being done to ensure drivers slow down when approaching or driving through a work zone. When I was flagging, I ran into a handful of situations with people who claimed that they did not see any of our construction signs.”

So is it up to the government or the employer to ensure worker safety? Both of my co-workers think that it is a mix of responsibility between the two, a joint initiative. “When it comes down to it, the employer needs to be absolutely sure that their workers are safe. I think they need to constantly keep an eye on them and stay in contact,” says Lisa. Veronica is more concerned about the enforcement of major safety laws, like ensuring that flaggers don’t have to work after dark without sufficient lighting, a law I saw broken more than once.

6 142

At the end of the day it is up to everyone–including workers–to ensure workplace safety, but this can only be achieved when there is a true awareness of what traffic control as a job actually entails. Flaggers need to start receiving and expecting proper washroom and mental breaks on the job, as well as public justice for negligence on behalf of the public, the government, and the companies that employ them.

Because construction is a growing field in Canada’s employment sector, it is crucial that some awareness is raised about the demands within these jobs, and hopefully then there will be less fatalities and workers will feel more comfortable speaking out against these injustices.

About The Girl on Bloor

I'm a busy 20-something about town living in downtown Toronto and creating fun, easy recipes for those on the go!
This entry was posted in Did You Know?, Life Stories, News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Precarious Labour: Traffic Control

  1. Stella says:

    As a female owner of a flagging company my challenges is when I complain to the customer about no breaks or customers yelling at my employee’s on safety issues they seem to not care or decide they do not want to use us anymore. When i go for new contracts no matter how cheep my prices are and how I explain to them i have to stay a certain price because i pay my employee’s full benifits they seem to not care and rely on using male owners of flagging company’s because they do not “complain” about their employee’s issues on safety and have not problem paying a hire price to use them. So to me it seems the higher you charge and not complain on safety issues the more work you get from customers. WCB does nothing when you phone in and report a issue, they seem to turn a blind eye till something happens when a employee gets hurt or killed then they try to not only blame the employer but the employee. 5 years ago at 6:30 am if i was not paying attention I would not be here today talking about it but a driver fell asleep at the wheel. While i was setting up on a highway I kept looking over my back and as turned I could see all these cars hanging back except this driver who was serving back and forth. When I realize as the first Big Highway sign and stand was flying towards me I jumped out of the way just in time where I watched the driver slam into the back of my truck. As I was phoning 911 and arguing with them to bring police, ambulance and hurry. One of the drivers that hung back pulled over to run towards the accident. When he saw me he cried and said to me oh my god your alive, because all’s they could see is me standing their and then me gone. After all was said and done I had to fight with ICBC and WCB which both asked me why was I out on the road and what time of day was it and did have enough sleep. I stared at them and said are you kidding me ? First of all I am a flagger, secound of all yes I got enough sleep and the weather was clear, third of all the driver just amitted not only to me at the accident that he fell asleep at the wheel but I have over a dozen witnesses that are drivers and seen it all. So how do you figure this is my fault? I have been in this industry for over 20 years and have faught with the safety council on having a proper training course then what they have their which should involve real day to day issues and events not some M.O.T.H. that have this might be a set up situation. The cops do nothing when you give them plate, vehicle discription of the vehicle, who was driving and time. They issue no tickets, to those who do speed, they will not add us to the laws of 30 k zone when we are out on the road as they do cops, ambulance, forest rangers, tow trucks and so forth. We are nothing to anyone out their and even when we are killed nothing gets done, it should be that if you kill someone with your vehicle and are found guilty it should be classified murder with a weapon being the “weapon” your vehicle. Until something gets done about us being hurt or killed out their the drivers will not care and continue to swear at us, spit on us, throw stuff at us or complain and lie to the customers saying we told them off when in fact they where the one to swear at us and cause us to not be allowed to return to a job or get token off the job because the customer wants to be the good guy instead of standing up for us.

  2. Stella, part of me wishes that I had also consulted you to help me write this post! I’d only been flagging for about 4 months and noticed how unfairly we were treated, but as soon as I got home I started doing some research on my own and you are right, the biggest issue I saw when looking at news reports was the implicit blame being put on the flagger and not the driver. In any other case when someone hits and kills a pedestrian, they are given a very thorough trial and the case is treated very seriously. From what I have seen so far when a flagger is injured, nobody cares and that person is treated as replaceable and meaningless, much less a human being.

    That’s shocking that employers are less willing to hire from you when you have high safety demands for your workers. The only time I was ever treated decently was when I pushed back against authority and called the human resources office at my company declaring that I wasn’t allowed to use the washroom or sit for more than an 8 hour period. Once you mention the words “human rights” to people they tend to listen.

    And I can definitely also agree with the police not caring. In fact our company refused to call in issues with drivers because they knew the police wouldn’t look into it in a timely manner. Yet when someone’s car gets hit they are quick to act. Talk about putting drivers ahead of workers

  3. stella says:

    I will help you as much as I can

Leave a Reply

